A New Year in Auckland 2021

Jan 8 - 9, 2021
Auckland, New Zealand

Every Nation Auckland City

9 Karaka Street, Eden Terrace, Auckland 1010, New Zealand

Main function room

A New Year in Auckland 2021 website


Caleb Hall, Joshua Brungar, Liam Wadek, and Luke Heath-Edwards
WCA Delegates
Alex Asbery and Luke Heath-Edwards
Download all the competition's details as PDF here.

A New Year in Auckland 2021 is an official World Cube Association (WCA) sanctioned speedcubing competition. Speedcubing is solving the 3x3x3 Cube or other similar puzzles as quickly as possible. The competition is open to all competitors regardless of experience and skill, but certain event-based time limits will be in place so as to make sure we can stay on schedule and get through the days on time. No prior experience in WCA competitions is necessary, but competitors should be familiar with the WCA regulations.

Main event
Registration period

Online registration opened and closed .

Registration requirements
This competition is over, click here to display the registration requirements it used.
Register for this competition here.
There is a competitor limit of 120 competitors.
The base registration fee for this competition is $40 (New Zealand Dollar).
If your registration is cancelled before you will be refunded 50% of your registration fee.
No on the spot registrations will be accepted.

Payment is made via the external website with two options to pay, either bank transfer or Paypal.

If registration fills up, a waiting list will be created. The last date to make it off the waiting list would be 24 hours before the competition begins with the conditions being that a spot opens up (someone else pulls out) and payment is completed.

Competitors may make changes to their registered events up until the end of registration.

Click here to display the highlights of the competition.

Adrien Auvray Matyn won with an average of 7.72 seconds in the 3x3x3 Cube event. Dwyane Ramos finished second (8.55) and Simon Geertsema finished third (8.91).

Oceanian records: Alexander Vujcich‎ Megaminx 30.32 (single); Dwyane Ramos‎ Pyraminx 1.22 (single).

Event Name Best Average Representing Solves
3x3x3 Cube Adrien Auvray Matyn 7.48 7.72 New Zealand 7.487.828.067.527.83
2x2x2 Cube Adrien Auvray Matyn 2.01 2.09 New Zealand 2.012.792.042.112.11
4x4x4 Cube Dwyane Ramos 29.20 32.64 New Zealand 31.1638.1234.0229.2032.73
5x5x5 Cube Dwyane Ramos 55.52 1:02.38 New Zealand 1:01.381:02.581:08.1655.521:03.19
3x3x3 Blindfolded Alex Taylor 58.38 1:09.84 New Zealand 58.381:21.861:09.28
3x3x3 One-Handed Dwyane Ramos 10.02 12.20 New Zealand 13.3611.5521.2911.7010.02
Clock Alex Taylor 6.60 7.30 NR New Zealand 6.696.607.008.219.60
Megaminx Alexander Vujcich 32.98 38.65 NR New Zealand 44.5032.9836.6939.6439.62
Pyraminx Elyas Eyou 2.64 3.91 New Zealand
Skewb Dwyane Ramos 2.29 2.54 New Zealand 2.682.292.872.632.30
Square-1 Dwyane Ramos 10.13 10.96 New Zealand 11.3910.1311.1911.7610.30
4x4x4 Blindfolded Alex Taylor 6:25.51 DNF New Zealand 6:25.51DNFDNF
5x5x5 Blindfolded Alex Taylor 15:11.00 DNF New Zealand 15:11.00DNFDNS

Time limit

If you reach the time limit during your solve, the judge will stop you and your result will be DNF (see Regulation A1a4).
A cumulative time limit may be enforced (see Regulation A1a2).


The result to beat to proceed to the second phase of a cutoff round (see Regulation 9g).


The format describes how to determine the ranking of competitors based on their results. The list of allowed formats per event is described in Regulation 9b. See Regulation 9f for a description of each format.

Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies.