A New Year in Auckland 2021

Jan 8 - 9, 2021
Auckland, New Zealand

Every Nation Auckland City

9 Karaka Street, Eden Terrace, Auckland 1010, New Zealand

Main function room

A New Year in Auckland 2021 website


Caleb Hall, Joshua Brungar, Liam Wadek, and Luke Heath-Edwards
WCA Delegates
Alex Asbery and Luke Heath-Edwards
Download all the competition's details as PDF here.

A New Year in Auckland 2021 is an official World Cube Association (WCA) sanctioned speedcubing competition. Speedcubing is solving the 3x3x3 Cube or other similar puzzles as quickly as possible. The competition is open to all competitors regardless of experience and skill, but certain event-based time limits will be in place so as to make sure we can stay on schedule and get through the days on time. No prior experience in WCA competitions is necessary, but competitors should be familiar with the WCA regulations.

Main event
Registration period

Online registration opened and closed .

Registration requirements
This competition is over, click here to display the registration requirements it used.
Register for this competition here.
There is a competitor limit of 120 competitors.
The base registration fee for this competition is $40 (New Zealand Dollar).
If your registration is cancelled before you will be refunded 50% of your registration fee.
No on the spot registrations will be accepted.

Payment is made via the external website with two options to pay, either bank transfer or Paypal.

If registration fills up, a waiting list will be created. The last date to make it off the waiting list would be 24 hours before the competition begins with the conditions being that a spot opens up (someone else pulls out) and payment is completed.

Competitors may make changes to their registered events up until the end of registration.

Click here to display the highlights of the competition.

Adrien Auvray Matyn won with an average of 7.72 seconds in the 3x3x3 Cube event. Dwyane Ramos finished second (8.55) and Simon Geertsema finished third (8.91).

Oceanian records: Alexander Vujcich‎ Megaminx 30.32 (single); Dwyane Ramos‎ Pyraminx 1.22 (single).

Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies.