San Diego Open 2009

May 23, 2009
San Diego, California, United States

Reuben H. Fleet Science Center

1875 El Prado
San Diego Open 2009 website

Adam Zamora

WCA Delegate
Adam Zamora

Registration fee: $10 for preregistered competitors, $15 at the door. Preregistration closes on May 16.

Main event
Registration requirements
This competition is over, click here to display the registration requirements it used.
Click here to display the highlights of the competition.

Phillip Espinoza won with an average of 13.37 seconds in the 3x3x3 Cube event. Ryan Patricio finished second (14.43) and Darren Kwong finished third (14.72).

Event Name Best Average Representing Solves
3x3x3 Cube Phillip Espinoza 12.21 13.37 United States 12.2115.0313.8113.7112.59
2x2x2 Cube Phillip Espinoza 3.28 5.30 United States 5.224.538.096.153.28
4x4x4 Cube Dene Beardsley 1:00.65 1:05.91 New Zealand 1:07.401:15.691:00.651:01.561:08.78
3x3x3 Blindfolded Chris Krueger 2:31.90 DNF United States 2:31.90DNFDNF
3x3x3 One-Handed Ryan Patricio 21.22 21.63 United States 21.2222.0033.8821.3621.52
Square-1 Takao Hashimoto (橋本貴夫) 18.43 20.55 Japan 26.7220.3121.6918.4319.66
Event Round Format Time limit Cutoff Proceed
3x3x3 Cube First round Ao5
Second round Ao5
Final Ao5
2x2x2 Cube Final Ao5
4x4x4 Cube Final Bo2 / Ao5 2 attempts to get < 3:00.00
3x3x3 Blindfolded Final Bo3
3x3x3 One-Handed Final Ao5
Square-1 Final Ao5

Time limit

If you reach the time limit during your solve, the judge will stop you and your result will be DNF (see Regulation A1a4).


The result to beat to proceed to the second phase of a cutoff round (see Regulation 9g).


The format describes how to determine the ranking of competitors based on their results. The list of allowed formats per event is described in Regulation 9b. See Regulation 9f for a description of each format.

Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies.