Poly Cubed 2017

Dec 9, 2017
Pomona, California, United States

International Polytechnic High School

3851 W Temple Ave, Pomona, CA 91768

Multipurpose room



Corey Nambu
WCA Delegate
Michael Young

The incredible sequel to 2016's hit competition, Poly^3 2017 will have more competitors, more cubes, more pyraminx, and less 2x2. 200% less 2x2.
This competition has reached its limit of 100 competitors. If you have already registered but have not been approved you have been set on a waitlist. If anyone drops out of the competition, you will fill that spot.
This competition will be held on the campus of International Polytechnic High School and hosted through the Strategic Gaming Club. All earnings will go towards the Strategic Gaming Club.
Special thanks to SpeedCubeShop for sponsoring this competition!

Main event
Registration period

Online registration opened and closed .

Registration requirements
This competition is over, click here to display the registration requirements it used.
Create a WCA account here if you don't have one.
If this is not your first competition, associate your WCA ID to your WCA account here.
Register for this competition here.
There is a competitor limit of 100 competitors.
The base registration fee for this competition is $6 (United States Dollar).
Click here to display the highlights of the competition.

Max Park won with an average of 7.80 seconds in the 3x3x3 Cube event. Danny SungIn Park finished second (7.94) and Nathan Soria finished third (9.91).

Event Name Best Average Citizen of Solves
3x3x3 Cube Max Park 5.16 7.80 United States
4x4x4 Cube Max Park 21.23 23.85 United States 26.5624.9121.2323.5823.05
Megaminx Isaac Langer 50.31 54.55 United States 50.3154.0759.8559.1050.48
Pyraminx Elijah Brown 2.34 3.16 United States 3.352.985.932.343.15
Event Round Format Time limit Cutoff Proceed
3x3x3 Cube First round Ao5 10:00.00 Top 24 advance to next round
Second round Ao5 10:00.00 Top 8 advance to next round
Final Ao5 10:00.00
4x4x4 Cube First round Bo2 / Ao5 10:00.00 2 attempts to get < 1:30.00 Top 8 advance to next round
Final Ao5 10:00.00
Megaminx First round Bo2 / Ao5 10:00.00 2 attempts to get < 2:00.00 Top 8 advance to next round
Final Ao5 10:00.00
Pyraminx First round Bo2 / Ao5 10:00.00 2 attempts to get < 45.00 Top 8 advance to next round
Final Ao5 10:00.00


Event Name Format Round 1 cutoff Round 2 competitors Round 3 competitors
Pyraminx Avg of 5 0:45 Top 8
3x3 Speedsolve Avg of 5 Top 24 Top 8
4x4 Speedsolve Avg of 5 1:30 Top 8
Megaminx Avg of 5 2:00 Top 8

Tentative Events:

Rounds 2 and 3 for all events do not have cutoffs.
In round 1, each competitor will have 2 attempts to solve under the cutoff limit. If a competitor fails to solve under the cutoff time both times, they will not be eligible to complete the average.


Start Finish Event Round
9:00 9:55 Pyraminx Round 1
9:55 11:25 4x4 Round 1
11:25 12:50 Megaminx Round 1
12:50 1:05 Pyraminx Final
1:05 2:05 Lunch Food
2:05 3:35 3x3 Round 1
3:35 4:15 Megaminx Final
4:15 4:45 3x3 Round 2
4:45 5:10 4x4 Finals
5:10 5:25 3x3 Final
5:25 5:40 Awards (And cleanup)

Skewb and Square-1 are tentative


The adress of the venue is
International Polytechnic High School 3851 W. Temple Avenue, Pomona, CA 91768

The school is surrounded by parking lots on all but one side. There is a large parking structure right next to the school. Parking will not be free, details on prices coming soon...
The entrance to the multipurpose room where the compitition will be can be found at the front of the school. Please use this entrance, since the last competition a fence has been put up around the school and this could likley be the only way in.

There are areas to find food on CalPoly's campus or elsewhere on Temple Ave. A club from the school will also be selling food at the venue, more details on that to come.


| Group A | Group B| Group C|
| A.1 | B.1 | C.1|
| Sungln Park
Nathan Soria
Dominic Morton
Ian McFerson
Jack Stewart
Cuauhtemoc Salvador
Carter Audet Marrero
Brenton Dunn
Alfonso Morales-Leon
Isaac McKey
| Sean Saito
Matthew Shore
Doa Doan
Brian McAllister
Alfred Wang
Isaac Langer
Jake Hansen
Jack Lulich
Gavin Amneus
Eli Herrera
| Christian De Paola
Elijah Brown
Joshua Quach
Will Do
Shawn Kirk
Ryan Woytowitz
Nathaniel Watson
Michael Young
Logan R. White
Jonny Katz
| A.2 |B.2 |C.2 |
|Gage Tan-Torres
Edward Xie
Jaden Smith
Derek Hsieh
Cj MacKinder
Brooklyn Schmidt
Ant Irizarry
Adam Noah Morals
Tristan Yoo
Riki Osawa
| Devin Corr-Robinett
Cody Jess Garcia
Caleb Lee
Aiden Burkholder
Brandon Tran
Jacob Carrasco
Jin Kay Teo
Jesus Juarez
Evan Serrano
Eduardo Frausto
Mubin Halimi
|Scott Weston
Nishant O’Neil
Michele Murakami
Matther Harris
Joshua Kwon
Tyler Vo
Shane Robertson
Riley Hunter McQuay
Maxim Zhulin
Jungwoo Kim
Jonathan Sun

Time limit

If you reach the time limit during your solve, the judge will stop you and your result will be DNF (see Regulation A1a4).


The result to beat to proceed to the second phase of a cutoff round (see Regulation 9g).


The format describes how to determine the ranking of competitors based on their results. The list of allowed formats per event is described in Regulation 9b. See Regulation 9f for a description of each format.

Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies.