MathSoc Open 2018

Jan 27 - 28, 2018
New Delhi, Delhi, India

St. Stephen’s College, Delhi

University Enclave, Near Vishwavidyalaya Metro Station, New Delhi-110007

Seminar Room

MathSoc Open 2018 website
Organization team
Capital Cubing and The Mathematics Society, St. Stephen's College
WCA Delegate
Akash Rupela

Online Registration ends on 20th January.
On the Spot Registration is available between 1:30 and 2:00 P.M. on 27th January (for all events) and 9:30-10:00 A.M. on 28th January (for events on 28th January).
Visit registration procedure tab for details.

Main event
Registration period

Online registration opened and closed .

Registration requirements
This competition is over, click here to display the registration requirements it used.
Create a WCA account here if you don't have one.
If this is not your first competition, associate your WCA ID to your WCA account here.
Register for this competition here.
The base registration fee for this competition is ₹200 (Indian Rupee).
Click here to display the highlights of the competition.

Aryan Chhabra won with an average of 8.67 seconds in the 3x3x3 Cube event. Tanish Saxena finished second (8.95) and Arnav Arora finished third (9.22).

Asian records: Shivam Bansal‎ 3x3x3 Multi-Blind 43/46 58:52 (single).

Event Name Best Average Representing Solves
3x3x3 Cube Aryan Chhabra 7.53 8.67 India 8.559.127.538.349.87
2x2x2 Cube Arnav Arora 1.16 1.81 NR India 1.452.331.162.071.90
4x4x4 Cube Aryan Chhabra 33.12 35.89 India 48.1634.4834.5933.1238.60
3x3x3 Blindfolded Shivam Bansal 26.20 27.97 India 27.9226.2029.79
3x3x3 One-Handed Arnav Arora 13.42 14.05 India 15.5113.9013.9614.2813.42
Clock Aryan Sehgal 5.85 NR 8.55 India 7.265.857.20DNF11.19
Pyraminx Naman Jethani 2.80 3.42 India 3.432.803.546.043.30
Skewb Arnav Arora 3.42 4.25 India 3.424.584.603.584.60
Square-1 Shivam Bansal 11.87 17.34 India 15.9719.9518.4917.5711.87
3x3x3 Multi-Blind Shivam Bansal 43/46 58:52 AsR India 43/46 58:5227/50 1:00:00
Event Round Format Time limit Cutoff Proceed
3x3x3 Cube First round Ao5 10:00.00
Second round Ao5 10:00.00
Final Ao5 10:00.00
2x2x2 Cube First round Ao5 10:00.00
Final Ao5 10:00.00
4x4x4 Cube First round Bo2 / Ao5 10:00.00 2 attempts to get < 2:00.00
Final Ao5 10:00.00
3x3x3 Blindfolded First round Bo3 10:00.00
Final Bo3 10:00.00
3x3x3 One-Handed First round Ao5 10:00.00
Final Ao5 10:00.00
Clock First round Ao5 10:00.00
Final Ao5 10:00.00
Pyraminx First round Ao5 10:00.00
Final Ao5 10:00.00
Skewb First round Ao5 10:00.00
Final Ao5 10:00.00
Square-1 First round Bo2 / Ao5 10:00.00 2 attempts to get < 1:00.00
Final Ao5 10:00.00
3x3x3 Multi-Blind Final Bo2 10:00.00 per cube, up to 60:00.00

Fee Structure (Online Registration)

A base fees of INR 200 and additional fees of INR 50 per event is applicable.
For example, if you do 4 events, your fees is 200 + (4 x 50 )= INR 400
Registration for students of St. Stephen's College is free. (not valid on on the spot registration)

Steps to Register

  1. Register on the WCA website. (LINK)
  2. Pay the registration fee through Cubelelo (LINK)
  3. If you are a student of St. Stephen's College, fill this form (LINK). You don't need to pay any fees
  4. Wait upto 48 hours for your name to appear in list of registered participants. (LINK)
  5. Online Registration closes on 20th January, 2018.

On the Spot Registration

  1. This will be available from 1:30 to 2:00 P.M. on 27th January (Saturday) and 9:30 to 10:00 A.M. on 28th January (Sunday)
  2. If you register on Sunday, you will not be eligible for events that happened on saturday.
  3. A base fees of INR 300 and additional fees of INR 50 per event is applicable. (i.e. INR 100 more than online fees)

Image description
Image description


1) This schedule is tentative and can be modified by organisers in unexpected circumstances. Make sure to pay attention to announcements during the competition.
2) In events with Avg of 5 format, any of the first two solves should be below the cutoff time for the competitor to get all five solves otherwise the competitor gets only 2 solves. In case of Mean of 3 format the first solve should be below the cutoff time.
3) After the time limit is crossed, the attempt is stopped and is awarded “DNF” [Did Not Finish].
4) All new competitors must reach the venue by 9:30 A.M. on Day 2 to attend the Introduction Session which is compulsory for all new competitors
5) Default time limit is of 10:00 i.e. Ten minutes.


Each event will be held in heats. The list of groups is available here: (LINK)
You can see your personal groups here - (LINK)


In order to enter the college you will need to show your ID card, make sure that you are carrying your ID card on both days of the competition.


Each and every competitor should be aware of the WCA Regulations and should abide by them during the course of the competition. Regulations can be found here.


The nearest metro station to the venue is Vishwavidyalaya on yellow line. You have to take a rickshaw to the competition venue which will drop you at the main gate of college. There will be a person at the gate and also signs throughout the path guiding you to the venue i.e. Seminar Room.


The Kamla Nagar Market is near to the venue. It consists of many food popular food outlets. You can also order from online portals and collect if from the main gate of the college. Please note that there is no time allotted for Lunch on Day 1, so make sure to have your Lunch before the competition, so that you don't miss out on any of your events on Day 1.


Results will be updated simultaneously as the event proceeds and can be checked on Cubecomps.

Time limit

If you reach the time limit during your solve, the judge will stop you and your result will be DNF (see Regulation A1a4).


The result to beat to proceed to the second phase of a cutoff round (see Regulation 9g).


The format describes how to determine the ranking of competitors based on their results. The list of allowed formats per event is described in Regulation 9b. See Regulation 9f for a description of each format.

Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies.