Incident: A competitor's video showed an over-inspected solve without any time callouts by the judge
In a competitor's video for a 3x3x3 Cube attempt, the competitor over-inspected (around 17.1s), but no call outs of 8 or 12 seconds at the correct timestamp were heard in the video.
The initial decision was to DNF this solve, but the decision was overturned by the WCA Board after an appeal. The WCA Board decided that it was more fair to let the result stand.
This was done because of the following:
- The error was made by the judge and the competitor is not at fault for overinspecting.
- The competitor may have gained an advantage, but potentially may not have. This is because it is not uncommon for competitors to begin solving when they hear the "8 second" warning, as this competitor did.
- Because the mistake was made by the judge, an extra should have been provided. However, since an extra was not available, the original time shall stand.
- A DNF is overly harsh for this situation and accepting the time achieved is more fair.