Opawa Open 2022

Sep 10 - 11, 2022
Christchurch, New Zealand

St Mark's School

33 Cholmondeley Avenue, Opawa, Christchurch, 8023, New Zealand


Opawa Open 2022 website


Dwyane Ramos, Jasper Murray, Mike Field, and Speedcubing New Zealand
WCA Delegates
Alex Asbery and Luke Heath-Edwards
Download all the competition's details as PDF here.

Opawa Open 2022 is an official World Cube Association (WCA) sanctioned speedcubing competition. Speedcubing is solving the 3x3x3 Cube or other similar puzzles as quickly as possible. The competition is open to all competitors regardless of experience and skill, but certain event-based time limits will be in place so as to make sure we can stay on schedule and get through the days on time. No prior experience in WCA competitions is necessary, but competitors should be familiar with the WCA regulations.

Main event
Registration period

Online registration opened and closed .

Registration requirements
This competition is over, click here to display the registration requirements it used.
Register for this competition here.
There is a competitor limit of 80 competitors.
The base registration fee for this competition is $35 (New Zealand Dollar).
If your registration is cancelled before you will be refunded 50% of your registration fee.
Registrants on the waiting list may be accepted onto the competitor list until .
If you are a registered competitor you may change your registered events until by contacting the organization team.
No on the spot registrations will be accepted.

Payment is made via the external website with two options to pay, either bank transfer or Paypal.

Your registration will be effective once we have received your payment, so please get your registration as early as possible to secure your spot. Please be mindful of bank processing times.

If all the registration spots fill up, a waiting list will be created. If a confirmed competitor decides to cancel their registration, then the first competitor on the waiting list will take their place. Competitors on the waiting list will be arranged according to the order in which their registration payment is received. Registration fees will be held by Speedcubing NZ until the final list of competitors is confirmed (24 hours before the competition begins). Those competitors on the waiting list who do not get a confirmed spot will be issued a full refund the week after the competition ends.

Please note that even if the competitor list is not showing as full at the time you register, there may already be other registrations waiting to be accepted, so you are not guaranteed a spot until your registration is accepted and appears on the competitor list.

Click here to display the highlights of the competition.

Dwyane Ramos won with an average of 7.09 seconds in the 3x3x3 Cube event. Jasper Murray finished second (7.48) and Adrien Auvray Matyn finished third (7.49).

Oceanian records: Dwyane Ramos‎ 3x3x3 One-Handed 9.33 (average).

3x3x3 Cube

# Name Best Average Citizen of Solves
1 Dwyane Ramos 6.10 7.09 New Zealand 6.106.549.786.927.81
2 Jasper Murray 6.89 7.48 New Zealand
3 Adrien Auvray Matyn 6.29 7.49 New Zealand 7.716.758.016.299.99

2x2x2 Cube

# Name Best Average Citizen of Solves
1 Dwyane Ramos 1.30 2.40 New Zealand 2.242.471.302.482.63
2 Adrien Auvray Matyn 2.11 2.68 New Zealand 2.352.653.032.113.09
3 Jasper Murray 2.52 2.81 New Zealand 3.102.734.642.612.52

4x4x4 Cube

# Name Best Average Citizen of Solves
1 Dwyane Ramos 26.71 31.63 New Zealand 32.8833.4029.3932.6326.71
2 Ben Kirby 23.39 NR 31.80 New Zealand 29.6623.3936.0832.7432.99
3 Finn Trass 28.98 33.14 New Zealand 28.9831.5833.9435.6533.91

5x5x5 Cube

# Name Best Average Citizen of Solves
1 Dwyane Ramos 51.31 54.22 New Zealand 51.3156.8152.3754.1656.12
2 Jasper Murray 50.06 55.89 New Zealand 50.0652.4154.131:01.13DNF
3 Ben Kirby 48.77 59.09 New Zealand 59.3859.1448.7759.0659.06

3x3x3 Fewest Moves

# Name Best Average Citizen of Solves
1 Dwyane Ramos 28 29.67 New Zealand 322829
2 Jack McDougall 30 36.33 New Zealand 443530
3 Jasper Murray 31 36.67 New Zealand 413831

3x3x3 One-Handed

# Name Best Average Citizen of Solves
1 Dwyane Ramos 9.43 11.08 New Zealand 10.3012.1011.959.4311.00
2 Jasper Murray 11.88 14.70 New Zealand 11.8812.3115.7816.0416.02
3 Adrien Auvray Matyn 11.49 14.89 New Zealand 13.6817.6313.35DNF11.49


# Name Best Average Citizen of Solves
1 Liam Wadek 5.69 7.24 New Zealand 6.318.317.115.69DNF
2 Dwyane Ramos 6.65 8.32 New Zealand 7.2113.787.806.659.96
3 Aneurin Hunt 7.93 8.75 New Zealand 8.468.487.9310.229.31


# Name Best Average Citizen of Solves
1 Jasper Murray 1.65 1.84 New Zealand 1.743.391.991.651.78
2 Adrien Auvray Matyn 2.46 3.81 New Zealand 7.395.053.722.462.65
3 Henry Eyles 3.00 3.83 New Zealand 3.624.786.053.003.08


# Name Best Average Citizen of Solves
1 Dwyane Ramos 2.22 2.52 New Zealand DNF2.432.882.222.26
2 Jack McDougall 3.94 4.77 New Zealand 3.945.103.995.218.28
3 Jasper Murray 3.85 4.81 New Zealand 3.914.545.997.533.85


# Name Best Average Citizen of Solves
1 Adrien Auvray Matyn 5.75 8.02 New Zealand 5.759.017.357.719.31
2 Dwyane Ramos 8.41 9.65 New Zealand 9.259.558.4110.1411.19
3 Jack McDougall 10.33 16.34 New Zealand 17.9414.5510.3317.5016.98
Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies.