2FTI San Diego 2016

Dec 10, 2016
San Diego, California, United States


9500 Gilman Drive, San Diego, CA 92093

Price Center West (Ballroom AB)

Organization team
Andrew Nathenson, Corey Young, Henry Helmuth, and Kavin Tangtartharakul
WCA Delegate
Michael Young

The cost of registration is $7+2n where n is the number of events you are competing in. Tentative events are free of cost. $1 per competitor will go towards the WCA and $1 will go towards SoCal cubing expenses.
Registration closes December 6th at 11:59 PM PST; please be sure to register before then!

We will not be taking registration at the door.

Main event
Registration period

Online registration opened and closed .

Registration requirements
This competition is over, click here to display the registration requirements it used.
Create a WCA account here if you don't have one.
If this is not your first competition, associate your WCA ID to your WCA account here.
Register for this competition here.
Click here to display the highlights of the competition.

Max Park won with an average of 7.34 seconds in the 3x3x3 Cube event. Danny SungIn Park finished second (7.93) and Kavin Tangtartharakul finished third (9.18).

World records: Max Park‎ 3x3x3 One-Handed 10.59 (average).

Event Name Best Average Representing Solves
3x3x3 Cube Max Park 6.05 7.34 United States 7.316.056.718.818.01
6x6x6 Cube Max Park 1:42.79 1:52.34 United States 1:53.852:00.391:42.79
7x7x7 Cube Max Park 2:55.06 2:58.79 United States 2:58.243:03.062:55.06
3x3x3 One-Handed Max Park 9.42 10.59 WR United States 11.4310.2011.499.4210.15
Megaminx Henry Helmuth 1:02.51 1:08.47 United States 1:09.611:02.511:03.941:16.241:11.86

Registering on the WCA website will put you on the waitling list, you must pay before being approved.

The cost of registration is $7+2n where n is the number of events you are competing in. $1 per competitor will go towards WCA and $1 will go towards SoCal cubing expenses.

For example, if you plan on competing in 3x3 and 3x3 one-handed, the cost of registration will be $7+2(2)=$11.

# of Events Total Registration Fee
1 Event $9
2 Events $11
3 Events $13
4 Events $15
5 Events $17


Events Format Cutoff Time Limit R1 Person Limit R2 Person Limit Final Person Limit
3x3 Avg of 5 None 3:00 100 24 8
3x3 One-handed Avg of 5 0:45 3:00 100 24 8
Megaminx Avg of 5 2:00 5:00 100 - -
6x6 Speedsolve Mean of 3 5:00 10:00 100 - -
7x7 Speedsolve Mean of 3 7:00 10:00 100 - -

* We will not be holding TeamBLD or Square-1.

Cutoffs may change depending on competitor turnout.

You must have a single solve under the listed cutoff time in the first two solves in order to complete the Average of 5. For 6x6 and 7x7, your first solve must be under the listed time in order to complete the Mean of 3.

Time limits are hard cutoffs; solves will be stopped after the time limit is reached.

Time Event
8:00-9:00 Setup/Morning Check-in
9:00-9:45 6x6
9:45-10:45 7x7
10:45-11:30 Megaminx
11:30-12:30 Lunch/Afternoon Check-in
12:30-1:30 OH round 1
1:30-3:30 3x3 round 1
3:30-4:00 OH round 2 (top 24)
4:00-4:45 3x3 round 2 (top 32)
4:45-5:10 OH final (top 8)
5:10-5:30 3x3 final (top 8)
5:30-5:xx Awards/Cleanup

Awards will be provided by SpeedCubeShop.

Image description

Getting to UCSD:

From south of the 52: Head north on the I5, take the Gilman exit and follow Gilman Drive all the way into the UCSD campus. Just after Russell Lane, you will see the Gilman parking structure on your left. Park here and walk north on Russell Lane, then left on Lyman. The Price Center will be on your right.

From north of the 52: Head south on I5 and take the La Jolla Village Drive exit. Make a right at La Jolla Village Drive, and in 3/4 mile turn right onto Villa La Jolla Drive. Follow it into campus and it will lead you right to the Gilman parking structure. Park here, then walk north on Russell Lane, left on Lyman, and the Price Center will be on your right. Enter the building and take the stairs or the elevator to the 2nd floor and look for Ballroom AB (there will be signs set up for the competition).

Parking Information:
Parking is free at UCSD on the weekends, but please park only in designated visitor parking areas, marked "P" on the campus map. Cars parked in spots marked "24/7 Reserved" may still be ticketed or towed.

Venue & Campus:
Here is a campus map. The Price Center is just southwest of University Center near the center of the campus map. Walking from Gilman parking, the stairs to Price Center Ballroom B will be west of the Triton fountain, but before you reach the bookstore. From the Price Center outside plaza, walk up the largest set of stairs. A map of Price Center can be found here. There will be restaurants open in the food court on the main floor. Please provide adult supervision for children under 12.

Heats will be printed on the backs of competitor name tags


Anders Bogan Alex Seidler (Darren) Bingkin Zhou Aldrin Ilagan Adam Zamora
Brian Barragan Andrew Nathenson Andrew Yin Alexander Wong Araya Scott
Corey Young Andy Halter Auden Wong-Trujillo Devon Lenwell Carter Chen
Elliot Cossins Anthony Lauro Connor Johnson Elias Valle Daniel Yun
Jack Purdum Davion Wells David Li Ethan Vovan Dasung Ham
Jason Le Evan Serrano Hannan Ziaulla Geneva Daniels Donovan Nunes
Jonny Katz Jason Park Jack Silva Henry Helmuth Elijah Brown
Jordan Aguilar Johnathan Lewis John Augustine Isaac Schmidt Harrison Park
Jose Chan Johnavon Kim Joseph Lee Joey Herro Kanggun Ham
Max Park Keegan Wright Kavin Tangtartharakul Josiah Smith Michael Young
Patrick Marshall Kevin Matthews Kyle Young Kanishkh Patalay Michele Murakami
Rayjorn Ventura Liam Wirth Lucas Peters Leo Thai Riki Osawa
Rob Peters Lucas Martin Matthew Harris Miguel Hurtado Jr. Rushil Kumar
Ryan Jew Phoenix Snow Noah Solomon Nathan Soria Spencer Baek
Sui Gao Sean Kennedy Pilan Scruggs Rahul Iyengar SungIn Park
Timothy Chang Terrence Cao Tristan Yun Tadd Kraft Tristan Yoo
Victor Magallanes Will Hamilton Terrance Garner Zane Schulz

3x3 OH

Andy Halter Aldrin Ilagan Alex Seidler
Anthony Lauro Andrew Nathenson Anders Bogan
Corey Young Brian Barragan Evan Serrano
Ethan Vovan Connor Johnson Henry Helmuth
Jordan Aguilar Elijah Brown Jack Purdum
Kavin Tangtartharakul Jason Le Matthew Harris
Keegan Wright Jonny Katz Miguel Hurtado Jr.
Kevin Matthews Jose Chan Pilan Scruggs
Lucas Peters Nathan Soria Riki Osawa
Max Park Ryan Jew Tadd Kraft
Michael Young Spencer Baek Timothy Chang
Rob Peters SungIn Park Tristan Yoo
Will Hamilton Terrence Cao


Alex Seidler Anthony Lauro
Anders Bogan Connor Johnson
Araya Scott Evan Serrano
Ethan Vovan Hannan Ziaulla
Kevin Matthews Henry Helmuth
Lucas Peters Nathan Soria
Michael Young Pilan Scruggs
Sui Gao Ryan Jew
Timothy Chang SungIn Park


Alex Seidler Anthony Lauro
Andrew Nathenson Evan Serrano
Dasung Ham Henry Helmuth
Ethan Vovan Michael Young
Kevin Matthews Nathan Soria
Max Park Pilan Scruggs
Ryan Jew Riki Osawa
Sui Gao SungIn Park


Alex Seidler Anders Bogan
Ethan Vovan Anthony Lauro
Kevin Matthews Henry Helmuth
Lucas Peters Max Park
Michael Young Nathan Soria
Ryan Jew Pilan Scruggs
Sui Gao SungIn Park
Tristan Yoo Tristan Yun

If you would like to be a judge, scrambler, or help set up, contact any of the organizers or leave a comment during registration. Thanks!

Emails can be found on the "Genral Info" tab.

Time limit

If you reach the time limit during your solve, the judge will stop you and your result will be DNF (see Regulation A1a4).


The result to beat to proceed to the second phase of a cutoff round (see Regulation 9g).


The format describes how to determine the ranking of competitors based on their results. The list of allowed formats per event is described in Regulation 9b. See Regulation 9f for a description of each format.

Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies.