Questions about one-handed solving

Ravi (2007-09-19 01:54:21 +0000)
I have some questions about one-handed solving (article C in the current regulations): First, C1c doesn't specify whether a competitor is allowed to switch hands between solves. This could be useful if, for example, one hand becomes tired or cramped after the first few solves. Second, I think C1b should be amended to allow for drops, which are governed by C1e. Third, is it really necessary to disqualify a solve because the competitor used two hands during inspection? I can see both sides of the issue, but I doubt that using both hands during inspection would give someone a significant advantage.
JChoi (2007-09-19 02:50:05 +0000)
[quote:2s45s897]C1c) Once a competitor touches the puzzle with one hand, he must not touch the puzzle with the other hand. Penalty: disqualification of the solve.[/quote:2s45s897] I think that only applies to one solve. Hence the disqualification of the solve as the penalty. [quote:2s45s897]C1b) During the solve no other body part or the table or any other available object must touch the puzzle. Penalty: disqualification of the solve.[/quote:2s45s897] [quote:2s45s897]C1e) If the competitor drops the puzzle during a solve, the competitor must not do moves until the puzzle has no contact with the surface anymore. Penalty: disqualification of the solve.[/quote:2s45s897] I can see the discrepancy in C1b as well. According to C1b, a drop would violate that rule?