"Surface"?

StefanPochmann (2010-05-09 20:48:06 +0000)
What is the "surface"? It is mentioned several times in the rules, but nowhere defined. Particular case: I just saw someone say it's a +2 when the magic ends up lying on the timer or touching it, which I thought is ok. The rules say [i:kygvv6nd]"For Magic (and similar puzzles) the puzzle must be flat on the surface"[/i:kygvv6nd]. But does the timer surface count?
Ron (2010-05-14 19:25:14 +0000)
Basically the surface is the mat of the Stackmat timer. But for example at the end of a solve, the surface could be anything. If the puzzle rolls off the mat or even the table, or the Magic ends up partially on the timer part of the Stackmat timer, then it should be considered the surface as well. I will put this on my todo-list for a future version.
Lucas (2010-05-16 22:16:56 +0000)
[quote="Ron":3825009x]or the Magic ends up partially on the timer part of the Stackmat timer, then it should be considered the surface as well.[/quote:3825009x] That is inconsistent with a lot of judging decisions I have heard of. (Not that this is incorrect; just noting.)
CarsonPenticuff (2010-05-17 18:06:01 +0000)
Prior to the 45 degree rule for Magic, almost any solve where a portion of the puzzle ended up contacting the timer would result in a +2, not specifically because of it touching the timer, but because the timer would elevate a portion of the puzzle beyond two tiles high. I don't recall giving out any +2's specifically for the puzzle touching the timer. Recently, at the Iowa Open, I got a little too excited during a 3x3 solve and the cube bounced backwards over the timer and landed in my lap. I suppose that at that moment, my crotch became "the surface." No penalty, however, Brian Logan opted for a "visual" post solve inspection of the puzzle only.