BLD penalties

Pembo (2007-04-04 16:09:15 +0000)
I am just wondering, if when you finish a blindfold solve, one face is a quarter turn out (when a normal +2 penalty would apply), is the solve a DNF or a +2? I seem to remember at the Belgian Open that Matyas Kuti's cube was not complete during his second attempt, and I also remember Ron saying it was a DNF. According to the WCA ranking site, it says Matyas completed the solve.. Could someone please clear this up for me?
cmhardw (2007-04-04 18:27:51 +0000)
In the case that a blindfolded solve ends with a layer twisted beyond the solved state that should still be solved, but incurs a +2 penalty, if I am not mistaken. I take the following from the regulations, but please someone correct me if my reasoning is inaccurate. At the beginning of the blindfolded section it says the following: [quote:13m4p4t7]B1) Standard procedure is followed as described in Article A (Speed Solving). Additional/special regulations for Blindfolded Solving are described below.[/quote:13m4p4t7] In the "ending the solve" subsection of the "Blindfold" section there is nothing mentioning what happens if one side is misaligned, which I read as implying standard procedure is followed as from speed solving. The speedsolving standard procedure says: [quote:13m4p4t7]A6g) The judge must inspect the puzzle without manipulating it and must determine whether the puzzle has been completely solved.[/quote:13m4p4t7] and this refers to section 10 which describes standard rules for solved state, and declares 1 move away as a +2 penalty. Therefore one move away in a blindfolded solve is considered unsolved, but receives a +2 penalty and not a DNF. I believe this reasoning is correct, and I've heard it mentioned before that one move away in a blindfolded solve is +2 and no longer DNF. Please someone correct me if I am wrong, because this is how I have been approaching that situation when in a competition. Chris
cmhardw (2007-04-04 18:31:24 +0000)
[quote:xbj356j6]Therefore one move away in a blindfolded solve is considered unsolved, but receives a +2 penalty and not a DNF. [/quote:xbj356j6] I misspoke here. This should read: "Therefore one move away in a blindfolded solve is considered solved but with a +2 penalty, and it is not considered a DNF."[/quote]
Kyle_A (2007-04-05 11:47:43 +0000)
I have always seen the +2 penalty as a penalty for manipulating the puzzle back to a solved state in case of a misalignment.Or in a severe case, a DNF.A blindfolded solve is initially for accuracy in my opinion.A single layer turn, could technically mean 8 misplaced pieces out of 20.I would hope this gets cleared up soon anyways!Chris, your videos inspired me to learn from stefan and yourself from yahoo group posts on bigcube BLDing.Thanks for all of your contributions, by the way. Kyle
Pembo (2007-04-05 11:57:22 +0000)
As Kyle says, a +2 in a normal solve is just an error of not turning the face far enough, where as in BLD, it's showing you haven't completed the solve, as you haven't remembered the set up.
StefanPochmann (2007-04-05 16:14:49 +0000)
[quote="Pembo":3dpk2kpx]As Kyle says, a +2 in a normal solve is just an error of not turning the face far enough, where as in BLD, it's showing you haven't completed the solve, as you haven't remembered the set up.[/quote:3dpk2kpx] Are you saying errors of not turning the face far enough are impossible in BLD?