Scrambling incident at Phalsbourg Open 2015

WDC (2015-04-18 00:09:37 +0000)
Dear Community, At Phalsbourg Open 2015, many of the scrambles in the 3x3 final were found to be incorrect by reviewing a video. Complex analysis of the scrambles given was undertaken in order to determine the problems that happened. Some of the incorrect scrambles were the result of 1 wrong move, others were the wrong scramble (incorrectly applied also), and others were totally unrelated to the scramble sequence. A competitor (under 18 years old) who scrambled the majority of the cubes has admitted to not checking the scrambles, and even more seriously, not even following the scramble sequences sometimes. The Board determined that the results of the round will be kept. Reasons for this include the fact that the incorrect scrambles did not appear to give any obvious advantage to anyone, and also the competitors were not to blame for any of this. The scrambler will be banned for 6 months from 1st May 2015 - 31st October 2015 for his/her complete disregard for the regulations and the integrity of results, especially in what most people would determine is the most important round of the competition. We hope this also serves as a reminder to the community that it is just as important to respect and obey the regulations when in roles such as scrambling and judging as it is when competing. Certain jobs such as scrambling should be left to the more experienced and responsible members of the community, and this case only serves to reinforce that. Regards, WCA Disciplinary Committee
Zeid (2015-05-13 11:07:48 +0000)
I am just asking. What should happen if the scrambler did a small mistake in the middle of the scramble. Then realised that it is wrong at the end. Should he solve the cube and then re scramble it?
Brest (2015-05-13 13:57:16 +0000)
[quote="Zeid":3sutg93t]I am just asking. What should happen if the scrambler did a small mistake in the middle of the scramble. Then realised that it is wrong at the end. Should he solve the cube and then re scramble it?[/quote:3sutg93t] 4g) After scrambling a puzzle, the scrambler must verify that he has scrambled the puzzle correctly. If the puzzle state is wrong, he must correct it (e.g. by solving the puzzle and applying the scramble sequence again). https://www.worldcubeassociation.org/regulations/#4g
bydolphinncubing (2015-08-16 17:02:57 +0000)
What if the scrambler accidentally does a R instead of an R' as an example and the scramble still shows up as the same? also, if the scrambler accidentally twists a corner without knowing, and the solve becomes a record of some sort, will it still be counted?
Randomno (2015-08-17 14:09:07 +0000)
[quote="bydolphinncubing":3d8lt0u6]What if the scrambler accidentally does a R instead of an R' as an example and the scramble still shows up as the same?[/quote:3d8lt0u6] No, I'm pretty sure that's impossible. And if it does show up the same, then the scramble is correct. [quote:3d8lt0u6]also, if the scrambler accidentally twists a corner without knowing, and the solve becomes a record of some sort, will it still be counted?[/quote:3d8lt0u6] https://www.worldcubeassociation.org/regulations/#5b3c
TMOY (2015-08-19 08:05:21 +0000)
[quote="Randomno":23592lrl][quote="bydolphinncubing":23592lrl]What if the scrambler accidentally does a R instead of an R' as an example and the scramble still shows up as the same?[/quote:23592lrl] No, I'm pretty sure that's impossible. And if it does show up the same, then the scramble is correct. [/quote:23592lrl] As a general rule, what counts is the state of the scrambled cube, not the exact sequence of moves you applied to rech it. The scrambling sequence is one of the possible ways to get the correct scramble, but if you find a better one, feel free to use it.